No Escape

Lying in bed, heart racing
He will come, I don’t know when
but it is inevitable.
Duvet strategically placed
blocking the exits
shielding my body.
It’s no use though.
He will touch me soon.
I won’t say a word,
like the last time.
That’s why he is here,
because I said nothing…

Footstep on the stair.
She must be asleep.
Coming to get his fix.
Show me what he could do
what he will do.
Cat and mouse.
Heart pounding, with
Each
Deliberate
Step.

Barely breathing

Want to be sick

Feel him watch me

Breathing heavy

It haunts me

Then he laughs.
Low down chuckle.
Evil.
My fear amuses him.

He stands a while
humming to himself.

Cough.

He retreats.

I remain tense.

Until…

Rustle of cigarette packet.
Clickety-click of lighter.

I breathe and cry silently
wrapped in my cocoon.

There is no escape.

Leave a comment